The Graduate Education Advancement Board and friends of graduate education support students in important ways

The Graduate Education Advancement Board (GEAB) supports The Graduate School and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in many ways. Members provide advocacy for graduate education and generate funds that support graduate students’ academic needs. GEAB members provide their own financial support to the GEAB Impact Awards (honoring graduate student research of direct benefit to North Carolina), fellowships and other areas benefiting students.

GEAB members in group outside of The Carolina Inn

GEAB members pictured above: (front row, left to right) Howard Lee, Penny Aldrich, Verla Insko, Fran Hoch and Burnet Tucker; and (back row, left to right) Don Buckley, Drusilla Scott, Ivy Carroll, Paul Hoch, Beth Whitaker, David Lewis, Ken Smith (chair of the GEAB) and Andrew McMillan Jr.


M. Ross Johnson (left) and Lyle Jones (right)

In memoriam:

The Graduate School administration and staff extend their sympathies to the families of M. Ross Johnson, pictured at left, and Lyle Jones, pictured at right. Both Dr. Johnson and Dr. Jones passed away in 2016.

Dr. Johnson, a longtime member of The Graduate School’s Graduate Education Advancement Board, passed away on October 17, 2016. He was a recognized leader in medicinal chemistry and a generous supporter of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Among their areas of University support, Dr. Johnson and his wife, Charlotte, endowed a dissertation fellowship within The Graduate School’s Royster Society of Fellows. Since 2001, 16 doctoral students have received the Ross and Charlotte Johnson Family Dissertation Fellowship.

Dr. Jones, vice chancellor and dean of The Graduate School from 1969 to 1979, passed away on April 13, 2016. During his tenure as dean, Dr. Jones was a tireless supporter of graduate education’s important contributions to North Carolina and to the UNC-Chapel Hill campus. He worked to recruit minority graduate students who were underrepresented in graduate education and collaborated with students to establish the Graduate and Professional Student Federation.

Graduate Education Advancement Board Members

  • Penny Aldrich
  • Suzanne Buchta
  • Donald Buckley
  • Ivy Carroll
  • Debashish Chatterjee
  • Lana Dial
  • Linda Dykstra
  • David Edwards
  • Harold Glass
  • Jean Grainger
  • Michael Harpold
  • Fran Hoch
  • Paul Hoch
  • Verla Insko
  • Blair Kutrow
  • Howard Lee
  • David Lewis
  • Susan Lord
  • Andrew McMillan Jr.
  • David McNelis
  • Laurie Sanford
  • Drusilla Scott
  • Kenneth Smith
  • Carol Smithwick
  • Thomas Sox
  • Burnet Tucker
  • Beth Whitaker

GEAB Members Emeritus

  • Timothy Crowder
  • Peace Sullivan
  • Priscilla Taylor
  • Charles Weiss